August 10 to 24, 2019

Prince Edward Island and Southeast New Brunswick
New Brunswick was one of the four founding Canadian provinces in 1867. Acadians and Francophones make up almost a third of the population. The Southeast New Brunswick region spans from the town of Saint-Louis-de-Kent all the way to the Nova Scotia border. The population is composed of native Acadians, new Acadians, Anglophones, and First Nations People.

Southeast New Brunswick Acadians live in rural areas as well as in towns. They work in all sectors of the economy and are very politically active.

Southeast New Brunswick Acadians are especially prolific in all aspects of arts and culture. Through diverse modern and traditional artistic means, Acadian culture continues to express itself in the region.

The Malecite and Mi’kmaq communities constitute the majority of New Brunswick’s First Nations communities. Here too they were the province’s first inhabitants, going back more than 3,000 years. The southeast region is a Mi’kmaq territory. In 1604, the territory that is New Brunswick today was part of the French territory named Acadie. The Acadian Deportation took place in 1755, and the Paris Treaty conceded the New Brunswick territory to the British Crown. The province was given the name New Brunswick in 1784.